drive by wire

Other News, Views and topics.

Moderators: DLRA, outbacktrev, Peter Noy, Rob Carroll, OLDtimer

hawkwind
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:50 pm

drive by wire

Post by hawkwind » Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:46 am

Hi Blokes :) .....I'm interested in finding if a stand alone or add on drive by wire kit exists ....must be an open loop type thing where X amount of throttle = X amount of butterfly opening .... just looking to replace the mechanical cable not the complicated closed loop ecu type thing.
cheers
Vehicle......................A new creation.
Designed by................Troglodyte.
Engineered/ built by......Rustic.
Financed by.................Nickles & Dimes.
Rider......................... Tardus Vetus Inflatio

Stayt`ie
Posts: 990
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 11:47 pm
Location: Mackay

Re: drive by wire

Post by Stayt`ie » Tue Apr 01, 2014 8:28 am

you may want to have a talk with Mike Akatiff about Rockeys incident at the 2011 Shootout, i believe thay ended up shoving the drive by wire system where the sun dont shine, :evil:
First Australian to ride a motorcycle over 200mph at Bonneville,,,

User avatar
Greg Watters
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:57 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by Greg Watters » Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:52 pm

I thought that was traction control ?

Gary i dont know what other ecu manufactures use , but the LinkG4 i use has an electronic throttle option
http://www.linkecu.com/products/Install ... tle-module

You may need to look at the later model e throttle bikes to get the other end of the system , or are you looking at single throttlebody and a carsetup

hawkwind
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:50 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by hawkwind » Tue Apr 01, 2014 3:49 pm

Thanks Greg ...checked out the site ...not much said about the add on but it did mention that its compatible with most ecu's.......what Im after is something that has zero connection with an ecu ...a stand alone setup that when I open the throttle X degrees it opens the butterfly the same X degrees just like a mechanical cable....Ill give them a ring and ask some questions.

cheers
Vehicle......................A new creation.
Designed by................Troglodyte.
Engineered/ built by......Rustic.
Financed by.................Nickles & Dimes.
Rider......................... Tardus Vetus Inflatio

gidge348
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:50 am

Re: drive by wire

Post by gidge348 » Wed Apr 02, 2014 11:29 pm

What would be the benefit of this?

Just looks like more stuff to go wrong (as long as you can still fit a cable), even F1 have problems with these things.

Have FBW throttle on my car and would gladly throw it, like driving a car by committee... I say GO but the controller has to take a vote.

Ian...

hawkwind
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:50 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by hawkwind » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:08 am

Thanks Ian :) .....Yes that's the very reason I don't want what is out there on offer i.e. where the ecu decides on what it wants to do from the input you make. if there is nothing available I will have to design and make my own or comprise with a mechanical one.

cheers
Vehicle......................A new creation.
Designed by................Troglodyte.
Engineered/ built by......Rustic.
Financed by.................Nickles & Dimes.
Rider......................... Tardus Vetus Inflatio

rgn

Re: drive by wire

Post by rgn » Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:47 pm

Image

User avatar
ChrisACT
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by ChrisACT » Tue Apr 08, 2014 9:21 pm

hawkwind wrote:Thanks Ian :) .....Yes that's the very reason I don't want what is out there on offer i.e. where the ecu decides on what it wants to do from the input you make. if there is nothing available I will have to design and make my own or comprise with a mechanical one.

cheers
If you don't want the ECU deciding on what it wants to do from the input you make, why run fly by wire at all? Isn't having electronic intervention the whole point of fly by wire?

Sounds like you want the direct throttle connection a mechanical linkage provides.

hawkwind
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:50 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by hawkwind » Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:15 am

ACT Chris wrote

[/quote] Sounds like you want the direct throttle connection a mechanical linkage provides.[/quote]

Bingo :D ....What I have planned would make for a rather long and convoluted mechanical linkage, wire from point A to B would make things easier.
cheers
Vehicle......................A new creation.
Designed by................Troglodyte.
Engineered/ built by......Rustic.
Financed by.................Nickles & Dimes.
Rider......................... Tardus Vetus Inflatio

User avatar
AuotonomousRX
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:05 pm
Location: Eyre Peninsula SA

Re: drive by wire

Post by AuotonomousRX » Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:01 pm

Gary is it worth checking out how existing Streamliner Cars and Bikes, Lakesters, and Rear Engine Dragsters manage the Throttle issue?

Pete :D
Metric Target 250 on a 250 on a Red Bike

Pete :shock:
DLRA #866
SATA #49

internetscooter
Posts: 474
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:18 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: drive by wire

Post by internetscooter » Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:10 pm

Ah - you are after a throttle control - just find yourself a Hillman Imp :)

http://ckdboats.blogspot.com.au/2013/02 ... -foot.html
Paul
---
DLRA #647
89.664 mph (aiming for 100mph+)
Vespa Labs [url]http://www.vespalabs.org[/url]

grumm441
Posts: 522
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Buggery, a tidy town
Contact:

Re: drive by wire

Post by grumm441 » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:53 pm

Hey Gary
Is this going to be a streamliner?
G
They make it
I make it work

User avatar
ChrisACT
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by ChrisACT » Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:13 am

hawkwind wrote:ACT Chris wrote
Sounds like you want the direct throttle connection a mechanical linkage provides.
Bingo :D ....What I have planned would make for a rather long and convoluted mechanical linkage, wire from point A to B would make things easier.
cheers
Ahh ... now I geddit. It's a packaging issue. What about hydraulics then? Hoses go around corners better than cables.

hawkwind
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:50 pm

Re: drive by wire

Post by hawkwind » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:11 am

Grumm....sort of mate ....a rear engine feet forward special construction .......hydraulic mmmm worth a thought thanks for all the replies.

cheers
Vehicle......................A new creation.
Designed by................Troglodyte.
Engineered/ built by......Rustic.
Financed by.................Nickles & Dimes.
Rider......................... Tardus Vetus Inflatio

momec3
Posts: 768
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:36 pm
Location: Cedar Grove Qld

Re: drive by wire

Post by momec3 » Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:42 pm

As much as I love FBW throttles (cause done right they can't stick) hydraulic makes more sense in this application.
Chris

Post Reply