ULP+

Other News, Views and topics.

Moderators: DLRA, Rob Carroll, OLDtimer, outbacktrev, Peter Noy

hawkwind racing

ULP+

Post by hawkwind racing »

I have been using ULP with 10% ethanol now for 4 months ,here are some observations , with ULP average consumption was 460km's per tank ,after switching I figured consumption would increase as ethanol has a lower energy content than petrol or power would drop for same reason , well consumption improved by a few % points up to 485 km's average per tank and I have not noticed any discernable drop in power :D and its octane rating is 94 :) , in Canberra its 5 cents less than ULP per liter :wink: so to date it appears to be a win /win change and a little less polution . Any one have any comments on using ethanol enriched petrol?
Gary
fastest busa in Captains flat pop. 200
gennyshovel

Post by gennyshovel »

Beware of the hydroscopic nature of ethanol Gary,,it tends to leave your fuel system full of sludge after a while (long while)
cheers Tiny
Tiny DLRA# 484
Postiebike Racing , created & funded by TwoBob Engineering
DON NOBLE

Post by DON NOBLE »

I have been using Ethnol 10 unleaded 98 for around 2 mths now . Haven,t checked fuel consumption so cant comment on that . I buy mine thru the independant fuel company Freedom , up here in sunny Qld . Its usually about 3-4 cents / ltr cheaper than the major fuel companies 98 octane . Shells 100 is only 5% ethanol and they charge 3 cents a ltr above 98 octane optimax . As i mentioned in another listing elsewhere on the forums , high performance import magazine did a comparison test . They rated the 98 ethanol as really being equivilent to around 104 octane . On a GTR skyline they squeezed an extra 22 kw out of it because they could advance timing a fair bit more . I,m running 22deg adv now ( std 16 deg ) and no sign of knocking ( pinging ) on the Apexi safc2 puter readout .
PJQ2

Post by PJQ2 »